Fana: At a Speed of Life!

Russian President introduces martial law in Kherson, Zaporozhye, DPR and LPR regions

Addis Ababa, October 19, 2022 (FBC) – Martial law has been imposed in the four regions that recently voted to become part of Russia amid the conflict with Ukraine, as Russian President Vladimir Putin announced the decision on Wednesday, according to reports by multiple media outlets.

RT reports that the Donetsk and Lugansk People’s Republics, as well as Kherson and Zaporozhye Regions, already had martial law in place when they became parts of Russia, Putin explained. So, the decision provides the legal basis for it to remain in place under Russian sovereignty, he said during a meeting of the National Security Council.

The document signed by Putin introduces martial law starting midnight on Thursday. It also orders various parts of the Russian government to submit corresponding action plans within three days, the report added.

In a separate decree signed on Wednesday, the Russian president ordered a state of ‘mid-level response’ in several other parts of the country bordering Ukraine.

These include the Crimean Republic, the city of Sevastopol, as well as Krasnodar, Belgorod, Bryansk, Voronezh, Kursk, and Rostov Regions. This is a special regime that gives officials additional authority to ensure security and rapid reaction to any emergencies, says RT’s report.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.